war mystery

republican president, middle east tyrant, fox happy.
democratic president, middle east tyrant, fox mad.

Picture 1

if i remember correctly, fox made the 2003 iraq war all about saddam.
saddam this, saddam that.
saddam accented on first syllable,
saddam accented on second syllable.
saddam just first name.
saddam hussein full name.

now it is time for syria to rattle and hum and it’s all about…
obama?
what?

c’mon fox news. where is the bashar bashar bashar?
let’s keep our eyes on the ball here.
wouldn’t want to appear treasonous…would you?

3 thoughts on “war mystery

  1. speaking of bashar, he wrote a nice piece in the onion:

    “…So, it’s your move, America. What’s it going to be?

    I’ve looked at your options, and I’m going to be honest here, I feel for you. Not exactly an embarrassment of riches you’ve got to choose from, strategy-wise. I mean, my God, there are just so many variables to consider, so many possible paths to choose, each fraught with incredible peril, and each leading back to the very real, very likely possibility that no matter what you do it’s going to backfire in a big, big way. It’s a good old-fashioned mess, is what this is! And now, you have to make some sort of decision that you can live with…”

    well done as always. onion hits everything hard.
    bashar finishes with a flourish:

    “…I’ll leave you with this: I am insane. Not insane enough to generate worldwide unanimity that I cannot remain in charge of my own country. That would make this a lot easier. No, unfortunately, I’m just sane and stable enough to remain in power and devise cunning military and political strategies while at the same time adhering to a standard of morality that only the most perverse and sociopathic among us would be capable of adopting. But nevertheless, I am insane, so do with that information what you will.

    Long story short, I’m going to keep doing my best to hold on to my country no matter what the cost. If that means bombing entire towns, murdering small children, or shooting at UN weapons inspectors, so be it. I’m in this for the long haul. And you will do…whatever it is you’re going to do, which is totally up to you. Your call.

    Anyway, let me know what you decide. I’ll be waiting.”

  2. armchair

    It takes years to build up a reptilian response. Besides, I’m guessing Bashar didn’t appear in Team America, which limits name recognition.

  3. armchair

    I’m just waiting for everyone to start walking around with their index finger pointed at the sky saying: “wait, you need to distinguish between strategies and tactics.”

Leave a Reply

